Brain Change

Focus on life through a simplified mind

Can you make the move to digital?

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away”

Antoine de Saint-Exupe

You should not have a single CD left in your house!  The pile of plastic boxes with silver discs inside has plagued us long enough.  It is time to eliminate another needless space waster.  Will you be able to rid yourself of these?  I did.  Well not quite but im close.  Here is what I am doing..

 Two days ago I was trying to figure out the next step on my journey and I read a post by Sara Raush at her website Life more lived.  Sara mentioned going to digital with all your movies and CD’s and I was all in.  I have an entire crate of Compact Discs in my garage.  (around 200) and I also have around 150 DVDs.  I began to understand that I could place all of this information onto one sleek, sexy, portable hard drive.  I would eliminate approximatley 350 possesions and still retain the same amount of information.  What could be better?

So after walking into my local Radio shack and purchasing a portable hard drive.  I began to load CDs into my Itunes and save them over to the hard drive.  After loading all my discs onto the drive i put them up for auction on E-bay.  I am trying to recoup the cost of the hard drive with my CD auction.  I also believe time would be better served by selling them as a lot vs. trying to sell them individually.  Next step… load all my movies onto the drive and auction them off as well.   Any movie  can then be watched over my laptop, of course its not a big screen TV with surround sound but I could watch a movie I wanted pretty much wherever and whenever I want,  I will have portable media over my computer.  Start thinking about what you could eliminate.  After my DVD’s are gone I am going to try to go paperless with bill payments. 

What else could you move to digital?

Have you had any luck reducing clutter in your life?

I would love to hear your stories.  Use the comment button to share them.

Please share this with your friends if you think it will help.

November 3, 2010 - Posted by | decluttering, minimalism, Personal Finance, simplicity | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds
    also…

    Comment by tagesgeldkonto vergleich | November 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hello Justin,
    Like you, I keep a lot of music on hard drives. I love the convenience, minimal space requirements, and all that.

    However, there’s one problem with this approach: with only a single hard drive, you’re one power surge or stumble away from losing your entire music collection .

    Don’t want to scare you, but I kinda do. Why? I love music, and the thought of anyone losing their music due to mechanical failure is troubling for me.

    Double redundancy, my friend. If you’re going to keep everything on digital, make sure you have a backup. I know you’re working towards a minimalist lifestyle, but if you pick up another hard drive and mirror your primary, you can make sure you don’t lose everything.

    Comment by Seth M. Baker | November 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Seth , thats a great idea I been actually thinking of paying for online backup services. What do you think about them? Is there any pitfalls to lookout for?

      Comment by Justin Guzman | November 21, 2010 | Reply

      • I haven’t used any online backup service. As I said, I just have one primary external hard drive and other of the same size mirroring the data on the primary. If one drive fails, I still have the other one.

        Were I more technically savvy, and if I was sure it wouldn’t violate my webhost’s TOS, I would just upload everything there using ftp.

        Comment by Seth M. Baker | November 22, 2010


Leave a Reply

